No risk to you — 100% satisfaction guaranteed! Order Now

Back to State Selection

Texas Registration and Title FAQ and Documents

FAQ
Texas Registration and Title Information
Summary of boat registration and titling rules in Texas
How do you register a boat in Texas?
In Texas, you can register your boat in person or via letter of authorization or power of attorney at a TPWD Law Enforcement office or a participating Tax Assessor-Collector office, or by mail.
Where do you register your boat in Texas?
In Texas, you register your boat at the TPWD
What boats are required to be registered in Texas?
All non-exempt vessels are required to be registered in Texas
What boats do not require registration in Texas?
The following boats are not required to be registered in Texas: 1) Vessels operated within this state for a period not exceeding 90 consecutive days that are covered by a number in full force and effect which has been awarded under federal law or a federally approved numbering system of another state; 2) Vessels from a country other than the United States temporarily using the water of this state; 3) Vessels owned by the United States, a state, or a subdivision of a state; 4) A ship's lifeboat; 5) All canoes, kayaks, punts, rowboats, rubber rafts, or other vessels under 14 feet in length when paddled, poled, oared, or windblown; 6) A vessel in use at a water ski tournament, competition, or exhibition sanctioned in writing by the governing board of the governmental entity that has jurisdiction over the body of water on which the tournament, competition, or exhibition occurs.
Are USCG documented boats required to be registered in Texas?
USCG documented boats are required to be registered in Texas
How much does it cost to register a boat in Texas?
To register a boat in Texas, the fees are as follows: 1) Less than 16 feet in length (Class A) - $32.00; 2) 16 feet but less than 26 feet in length (Class 1) - $53.00; 3) 26 feet but less than 40 feet in length (Class 2) - $110.00; 4) 40 feet or more in length (Class 3) - $150.00; 5) Livery Boat less than 16 feet in length (Class A) - $32.00
How much does it cost to get a duplicate boat registration in Texas?
A duplicate boat registration in Texas costs $11.00
How much does it cost to get a duplicate boat decal in Texas?
A duplicate boat decal in Texas costs $22.00
How much does it cost to transfer a boat registration in Texas?
Transfering a boat registration in Texas will cost you $11.00
Does Texas title boats?
Boats are titled in Texas
Where do you title your boat in Texas?
In Texas, boats are titled through the TPWD
What boats are required to be titled in Texas?
All motorized vessels and sailboats (with or without a motor) over 14 feet are required to be titled in Texas
What boats do not require a title in Texas?
The following boats are exempt from titling in Texas: Canoes, kayaks, punts, rowboats, rubber rafts or other vessels under 14 feet in length when paddled, poled, oared or windblown.
How much does it cost to title a boat in Texas?
The following fees apply to boat titling in Texas: 1) New Vessel/Outboard Motor $27.00; 2) Transfer of Vessel/Outboard Motor $27.00; 3) Replacement (Lost/Destroyed/Correction) $27.00; 4) Bonded $37.00
How much does it cost to get a duplicate boat title in Texas?
A duplicate boat title in Texas costs $27.00; "Quick" Title (To expedite the replacement of lost or destroyed titles only) is $64.00
How much does it cost to transfer a boat title in Texas?
It will cost you $11 to transfer a boat title in Texas
How much does it cost to record a lien on a boat in Texas?
Recording a lien in Texas will cost you $27 if adding, correcting, or removing a lien to an existing title (no change of ownership). There is no additional fee if issuing title for new boat or outboard motor or transferring ownership.
Does Texas issue e-titles for boats?
Texas does not issue e-titles for boats.
Does Texas require boat inspections?
If a vessel does not have a HIN, or has an invalid HIN, the owner much pay a $25 inspection fee to have the boat physically inspected to either locate the identification number or issue a state assigned number in Texas
What is the sales tax rate for boats in Texas?
The sales tax rate on boats in Texas is 6.25% of sales price. Applies to boats and outboard motors.
What is the sales tax cap for boats in Texas?
In Texas, the sales tax cap is $18,750.00 (Applies only to vessels purchased in Texas on or after September 1, 2019)
Does Texas have an annual tax on boats?
Texas does not have an annual tax on boats.
Helpful Links for Texas:
Boat Title, Registration & ID Requirements — Texas Parks & Wildlife Department References, Tools & Forms for Boat Titling/Registration TPWD: Boat/Motor Owner Transfer Notification TPWD: Boat/Motor Online Transactions

Trusted By

State Farm BoatU.S. South Shore Marine NICB Progressive Tampa Yacht Sales Marine Connection Brewer Yacht Sales NADA Guides Pop Yachts Markel Insurance US Alliance