No risk to you — 100% satisfaction guaranteed! Order Now

Back to State Selection

Missouri Boat Registration / Title Forms and FAQ

Missouri Frequently Asked Questions

Missouri Registration and Title Information
Summary of boat registration and titling rules in Missouri
How do you register a boat in Missouri?
In Missouri, you can register your boat in person or by mail to the central office or to any contract license office within the state of Missouri.
Where do you register your boat in Missouri?
In Missouri, you register your boat at the Dept. of Revenue
What boats are required to be registered in Missouri?
The following boats are required to be registered in Missouri: Motorized vessels or sailboats over 12' in length.
What boats do not require registration in Missouri?
The following boats are not required to be registered in Missouri: (1) Already covered by a number in full force and effect which has been awarded to it pursuant to federal law or a federally approved numbering system of another state; except* that the boat shall not have been within this state for a period in excess of sixty consecutive days; (2) A vessel from a country other than the United States using the waters of this state for not more than sixty consecutive days; (3) A vessel whose owner is the United States; (4) A ship's lifeboat which is used solely for lifesaving purposes; (5) A vessel documented by the United States Coast Guard or any federal successor thereto; (6) A motorboat designed and intended solely for racing while competing in any race previously approved by the water patrol division in accordance with section 306.130. This exemption shall include operation within a twenty four hour period prior to such approved race in order to test or tune up the motorboat.
Are USCG documented boats required to be registered in Missouri?
USCG documented boats are required to be registered in Missouri
How much does it cost to register a boat in Missouri?
To register a boat in Missouri, the fees are as follows: • Class A Vessel - $25.00 • Class 1 Vessel - $55.00 • Class 2 Vessel - $100.00 • Class 3 Vessel - $150.00
How much does it cost to get a duplicate boat registration in Missouri?
A duplicate boat registration in Missouri costs $8.50 plus $6.00 processing fee.
How much does it cost to get a duplicate boat decal in Missouri?
A duplicate boat decal in Missouri costs $8.50 plus $6.00 processing fee.
How much does it cost to transfer a boat registration in Missouri?
Boat registration transfers are treated as new registrations in Missouri
Does Missouri title boats?
Boats are titled in Missouri
Where do you title your boat in Missouri?
In Missouri, boats are titled through the Dept. of Revenue
What boats are required to be titled in Missouri?
All motorized vessels or sailboats over 12' in length are required to be titled in Missouri
What boats do not require a title in Missouri?
The following boats are not required to be titled in Missouri: (1) Already covered by a number in full force and effect which has been awarded to it pursuant to federal law or a federally approved numbering system of another state; except* that the boat shall not have been within this state for a period in excess of sixty consecutive days; (2) A vessel from a country other than the United States using the waters of this state for not more than sixty consecutive days; (3) A vessel whose owner is the United States; (4) A ship's lifeboat which is used solely for lifesaving purposes; (5) A vessel documented by the United States Coast Guard or any federal successor thereto; or (6) A motorboat designed and intended solely for racing while competing in any race previously approved by the water patrol division in accordance with section 306.130. This exemption shall include operation within a twenty four hour period prior to such approved race in order to test or tune up the motorboat.
How much does it cost to title a boat in Missouri?
The following fees apply to boat titling in Missouri: • Vessel Original- $7.50, • Outboard motor Original $5.00, • Mechanic Lien $10, and • Repossession $10 • Plus a $6.00 processing fee for each title type
How much does it cost to get a duplicate boat title in Missouri?
A duplicate boat title in Missouri costs $8.50 plus $6.00 processing fee.
How much does it cost to transfer a boat title in Missouri?
Transferring a boat title in Missouri will cost you $7.50 plus $6.00 processing fee. Transferring an Outboard Motor will cost you $5.00 plus $2.50 processing fee.
How much does it cost to record a lien on a boat in Missouri?
Recording a lien in Missouri will cost you a $6.00 processing fee
Does Missouri issue e-titles for boats?
Missouri does not issue e-titles for boats.
Does Missouri require boat inspections?
Missouri does not require an inspection to register a boat.
What is the sales tax rate for boats in Missouri?
The sales tax rate on boats in Missouri is 4.225% plus any local applicable sales tax (local county/municipality)
Does Missouri have an annual tax on boats?
Missouri has an annual personal property tax on boats assessed by the individual county where the boat is located on January 1 of the given year.
Helpful Links for Missouri:
Boat/Vessel/Outboard Motor Titling and Registration

Trusted By

State Farm BoatU.S. South Shore Marine NICB Progressive Tampa Yacht Sales Marine Connection Brewer Yacht Sales NADA Guides Pop Yachts Markel Insurance US Alliance