No risk to you — 100% satisfaction guaranteed! Order Now

Back to State Selection

California Registration and Title FAQ and Documents

FAQ
California Registration and Title Information
Summary of boat registration and titling rules in California
How do you register a boat in California?
In California, you can register your boat at the DMV field office or a dealership that can complete paperwork and accept fees on behalf of DMV
Where do you register your boat in California?
In California, you register your boat through the DMV
What boats are required to be registered in California?
The following boats are required to be registered in California: Undocumented motor boats; undocumented sailboats over eight feet in length or with a motor; Amphibious vehicle/vessels; Houseboats with the exception of a floating, stationary residential dwelling (floating home) not designed to have power of its own, dependent for utilities from a source on shore, and which has a permanent sewage hookup on shore (CVC §9840); Inflatable vessels with motors; Personal watercraft ski-type vessels (for example, jet ski or wet bike); Shuttle craft (a full-size, open bow, jet boat similar to a barge, powered and steered by a PWC)
What boats do not require registration in California?
The following boats are not required to be registered in California: Vessels propelled solely by oars or paddles., Sailboats eight feet or less in length without motors., A public vessel of the United States, another state, or subdivision of another state., A ship's lifeboat. (A dinghy is not a lifeboat.), A vessel of another country temporarily using the waters of this state., A vessel bearing an assigned number in full force, which has been issued pursuant to federal law or a federally-approved numbering system of another state, provided it has not changed its state of principal use and has not been within this state for a period in excess of 90 consecutive days., Non-motorized surfboards over eight feet in length, propelled by a sail that requires the operator to hold the mast upright., A vessel not using or on the waters of this state., Racing vessels brought into this state exclusively for racing purposes and remaining for less than 90 days providing the state of origin also exempts such vessels (CCR §190.19)
Are USCG documented boats required to be registered in California?
USCG documented boats are not required to be registered in California
How much does it cost to register a boat in California?
To register a boat in California, the fees are as follows: • Sold in an even-numbered year - $29 • Sold in an odd-numbered year -$49 Penalty fee for late original registration: • Sold in an even-numbered year - $10 • Sold in an odd-numbered year - $15
How much does it cost to get a duplicate boat registration in California?
A duplicate boat registration in California costs $15
How much does it cost to get a duplicate boat decal in California?
A duplicate boat decal in California costs $15
How much does it cost to transfer a boat registration in California?
Transfering a boat registration in California will cost you $15
Does California title boats?
Boats are titled in California
Where do you title your boat in California?
In California, boats are titled through the DMV
What boats are required to be titled in California?
Boats that are required to be titled in California include: Undocumented motor boats, Undocumented sailboats over eight feet in length or with a motor, Amphibious vehicle/vessels, Houseboats, Inflatable vessels with motors, and Personal watercraft ski-type vessels (for example, jet ski or wet bike)
What boats do not require a title in California?
The following boats do not require a title in California: • Vessels propelled solely by oars or paddles • Sailboats eight feet or less in length without motors • A ship's lifeboat • Non-motorized surfboards over eight feet in length, propelled by a sail that requires the operator to hold the mast upright.
How much does it cost to title a boat in California?
The following fees apply to boat titling in California: • Vessel Original -$9 • Vessel Transfer - $15 • Registration (odd vs even year) - $10-$20 • Use tax - Variable • Quagga Mussel Fee (if applicable / odd vs even year) - $8- $16
How much does it cost to get a duplicate boat title in California?
A duplicate boat title in California costs $15
How much does it cost to transfer a boat title in California?
It will cost you $15 to transfer a boat title in California
How much does it cost to record a lien on a boat in California?
Recording a lien in California will cost you $8
Does California issue e-titles for boats?
California issues e-titles for boats.
Does California require boat inspections?
California does not require an inspection to register a boat.
What is the sales tax rate for boats in California?
Sales tax rates on boats in California include the following: Roughly just over 8%, with some counties closer to 10%
What is the sales tax cap for boats in California?
In California, the sales tax cap is 10%
Does California have an annual tax on boats?
California does not have an annual tax on boats.
Helpful Links for California:
Boat/Vessel Registration - California DMV

Trusted By

State Farm BoatU.S. South Shore Marine NICB Progressive Tampa Yacht Sales Marine Connection Brewer Yacht Sales NADA Guides Pop Yachts Markel Insurance US Alliance