No risk to you — 100% satisfaction guaranteed! Order Now

Back to State Selection

Alabama Boat Registration / Title Forms and FAQ

Alabama Frequently Asked Questions

Alabama Registration and Title Information
Summary of boat registration and titling rules in Alabama
How do you register a boat in Alabama?
In Alabama, initial registration is done in person at a county license office.
Where do you register your boat in Alabama?
In Alabama, you register your boat at the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency
What boats are required to be registered in Alabama?
The following boats are required to be registered in Alabama: Every description of watercraft, other than a seaplane, capable of being used as a means of transportation on the water, but such term shall not include vessels 12 feet in length or less when used solely on farm ponds of less than 50 acres in size.
What boats do not require registration in Alabama?
The following boats are not required to be registered in Alabama: (1) A vessel operating under valid temporary certificate or number; (2) Already covered by a number in full force and effect which has been awarded to it pursuant to federal law or a federally approved numbering system of another state; provided, that such vessel shall not have been within this state for a period in excess of 90 consecutive days; (3) A vessel under registry from a country other than the United States temporarily using the waters of this state; (4) A vessel owned by the United States, or a state, county or municipality; (5) A ship's lifeboat; or (6) A vessel not propelled by machinery, except sail boats and boats for hire.
Are USCG documented boats required to be registered in Alabama?
USCG documented boats are required to be registered in Alabama if in the state for over 90 days
How much does it cost to register a boat in Alabama?
To register a boat in Alabama, the fees are as follows: • CLASS 1. Less than 16 feet in length, eighteen dollars ($18) plus a two dollar ($2) issuance fee. • CLASS 2. Sixteen feet or over and less than 26 feet in length, twenty-three dollars ($23) plus a two dollar ($2) issuance fee. • CLASS 3. Twenty-six feet or over and less than 40 feet in length, seventy-three dollars ($73) plus a two dollar ($2) issuance fee. • CLASS 4. Forty feet or over in length, ninety-eight dollars ($98) plus a two dollar ($2) issuance fee. The above stated fees shall also apply to livery boats. • CLASS 5. Dealer or manufacturer; temporary license, twenty-three dollars ($23) plus a two dollar ($2) issuance fee for each license. (b) In addition to the foregoing fees, there shall be an inspection fee of twenty-five dollars ($25) for all homemade boats which require a hull identification number."
How much does it cost to get a duplicate boat registration in Alabama?
A duplicate boat registration in Alabama costs $5
How much does it cost to get a duplicate boat decal in Alabama?
A duplicate boat decal in Alabama costs $5
How much does it cost to transfer a boat registration in Alabama?
Transfering a boat registration in Alabama will cost you $3
Does Alabama title boats?
Boats are not titled in Alabama
Helpful Links for Alabama:
Boating Forms and Permits | Alabama Law Enforcement Agency Marine Patrol | Alabama Law Enforcement Agency

Trusted By

State Farm BoatU.S. South Shore Marine NICB Progressive Tampa Yacht Sales Marine Connection Brewer Yacht Sales NADA Guides Pop Yachts Markel Insurance US Alliance